Bug ID: 20283
Summary: Editing a course item for an inactive course affects
the item fields directly
Change sponsored?: ---
Priority: P5 - low
Component: Course reserves
Assignee: [hidden email] Reporter: [hidden email] QA Contact: [hidden email]
When adding an item to course reserves the values in the items and course_items
tables are swapped e.g. items.holdingbranch becomes course_items.holdingbranch
and vice versa.
When a course is marked inactive, the values are swapped back.
When editing an inactive course we modify item values directly. This seems to
be because we don't check if the course is active or not. When a course is
active ti is correct to modify the items, but if inactive we should only modify
1 - Find/create an item with existing values for:
2 - Add this item to an active course in course reserves, change all the values
3 - Make the course inactive
4 - Edit the course item, changing all the values
5 - Save and note the changes did not populate to the course reserve
6 - View the item, note the item was changed
7 - Edit the course again, note the dropdowns show the course item values, not
the new item values
I think we have two options:
1 - Check if a course it active when modifiying a course reserve and adjust the
2 - Don't allow editing of items for inactive courses
Additionally, when deleting an inactive course that contains reserve items, the
values that are normally changed when the course is marked "active" are changed
permanently in the item record.
Course reserve class is inactive.
Item in the course reserve list has correct location, item type, and shelving
Course reserve class is deleted (due to inactivity).
Item that was listed in the course reserve list now has a location status of
"reserves," item type of "reserve," and location is changed based on branch
where the course reserves were held.
Switching the course to "active" before deleting the course also causes the
This is pretty frustrating to go back and fix manually due to the number of
items that may be in a course (and once the course is deleted, it may be hard
to track down the original list).
What |Removed |Added
--- Comment #2 from Myka Kennedy Stephens <[hidden email]> ---
Yes, this bug creates huge problems if one does not know it exists.
The only way I have figured out to avoid items being permanently changed to
their course reserve status when a course is deleted or when an item is deleted
from a course is to do the following:
1. Make sure the course being deleted is enabled
2. Edit the item being deleted from the course to leave everything unchanged
3. Delete the item from the course
This workaround probably requires the same amount of effort as manually
changing each item back to its original status after deleting a course from
course reserves. The better way to go is probably to note all the barcodes
before deleting the course and then use the batch item modification tool after
Please find a fix for this bug! Thank you in advance.